Sign In

ATRF Welcomes New Board Members


​John Butler joined the ATRF board in December 2016. His 38-year career includes having been a partner at the law firm Torys LLP, a senior executive at Barrick Gold Corporation and, for the last 11 years of his career, the Senior Managing Director, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary of Canada Pension Plan Investment Board. John is currently also a director of BristolGate Capital Corporation and Badminton Canada.


​Catherine Connolly joined the ATRF board in December 2016. Catherine is the founder and president of Gist Solutions, a strategic planning, project management and change integration firm. Catherine was previously CFO of several junior oil and gas companies and formerly a Vice President at the Ontario Municipal Retirement System (OMERS). Prior to joining OMERS, Catherine was with Canadian Pacific Railway, where she held a variety of positions in both Engineering and Finance, including responsibility for the defined benefit pension plan. Catherine holds a PhD from the University of Alberta and an MBA from Queens University.


​Kareen Stangherlin joined the ATRF board in December 2016. Kareen is the co-founder of Zelos Capital Ltd., an investment and advisory firm focused on facilitating inbound Canadian investment for foreign capital. Kareen was previously the CFO and CCO of several private equity and alternative investment firms, and worked with KPMG in Calgary and the Cayman Islands. Kareen currently serves on the Canadian CFA Societies' Advocacy Council and is a Board member for the Calgary Search and Rescue Association as well as the Lougheed House Conservation Society. Kareen is a Chartered Professional Accountant, a Chartered Financial Analyst and a Certified Financial Planner, with an undergraduate degree in Accounting from the Haskayne School of Business at the University of Calgary.


Marvin Romanow joined the ATRF Board in October 2016. He is a Corporate Director and Executive in Residence at the University of Saskatchewan and is a Board member of SaskPower. He is also Chairman of Freehold Royalties, a Commissioner of the Alberta Petroleum Marketing Commission and the former CEO of Nexen Inc.



© Copyright 2015, Alberta Teachers' Retirement Fund Board
Legal Information