Sign In

ATRF Corporate Management


Emilian Groch
​Rod Matheson
Chief Executive Officer

As Chief Executive Officer, Rod Matheson is responsible for the operation and management of the organization. The ATRF Board provides information, benefits and asset management for 75,000 teachers and retired teachers of Alberta.

Prior to joining ATRF, Mr. Matheson was with the Government of Alberta in various capacities for over 30 years, most recently as Assistant Deputy Minister, Treasury and Risk Management with Alberta Treasury Board and Finance. With his extensive management responsibilities in Treasury Management, Risk Management and Insurance, Capital Markets Policy and Financial Institutions Policy divisions, he is a leader with expertise in finance and investment management.

Mr. Matheson has a Bachelor of Commerce degree and an MBA from the University of Alberta as well as a Certified Management Accountant (CMA) designation and a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) designation.

Derek Brodersen
​Derek Brodersen
Chief Investment Officer​

Derek Brodersen is responsible for the development, implementation and ongoing management of investment policies, strategies and systems and the monitoring and evaluating of investment performance and policy compliance.

Mr. Brodersen joined ATRF in February 1997 as Portfolio Manager, Equities; he assumed the role of Chief Investment Officer in September 2008. Previously, he was Vice President, Equities at Crown Life Investment Management Inc. and also managed investments in the firm’s fixed income and private equity areas.

Mr. Brodersen holds Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Manitoba, an MBA from York University and CFA and ICD.D designations. He is a member of the CFA Institute, the Edmonton CFA Society, the Pension Investment Association of Canada, the Institute of Corporate Directors and is a board member of the Canadian Coalition for Good Governance.

Albert Copeland

Vice President, 
Information & Technology Services

Albert Copeland is responsible for all aspects of Information & Technology Services, including IT infrastructure, security, software developement and records management. He determines IT strategy, standards, policies and budget; and, manages IT planning, implementation, security, data and communications, and business resumption plans.

Mr. Copeland joined ATRF in February 1984. Prior to this, he was a Programmer/Analyst with the Alberta Liquor Control Board, and a programmer with Bechtel Canada.

Mr. Copeland has a diploma in computer systems technology from NAIT and is a member of CIOCAN, the CIO Association of Canada representing IT Executives and CIO's; ISACA, representing IT governance professionals; and, The Public Retirement Information Systems Managers group (PRISM), representing IT professionals of public retirement organizations.


Julie Joyal

Vice President,


Julie Joyal is responsible for the strategic direction and ongoing management of Pension Services at ATRF, including the provision of accurate, timely and cost-effective benefit payments and services to plan members and information to employers and plan sponsors. She advises on pension benefit, member services and actuarial issues.

Ms. Joyal, a fluently bilingual actuary, joined ATRF in August 2016. Previously, she was with Canada Post Corporation as their Director, Pension and Benefits. Before then, Julie worked at Aon Hewitt in Montreal and Ottawa from 1997 to 2011, starting as an Analyst and progressing into a Vice President role over an 8-year time period.

Julie holds a B.Sc. degree in Mathematics from the University of Montreal. She is a Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries and a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries. Ms. Joyal is a member of the Canadian Pension & Benefits Institute and is involved with the Association of Canadian Pension Management.



Margot Hrynyk

Vice President,
Corporate Services

​​​Margot Hrynyk is responsible for the ongoing management of ATRF’s Corporate Services, including human resources management, administration functions, corporate communications and board support activities.

Ms. Hrynyk joined ATRF in February 2006. She has worked extensively within human resources, specializing in benefits administration, employee relations and corporate training and development. Previously, she was the Manager of Human Resources at Dynacare Kasper Medical Laboratories.

Ms. Hrynyk holds a B.A., B.Ed. (After Degree), a Personnel Administration Certificate and is a Certified Human Resources Professional (CHRP). She is a member of the Human Resources Management Association of Edmonton, the Human Resources Institute of Alberta and the Freedom of Information & Protection of Privacy Association of Alberta.  ​


Myles Norton

Vice President,

​Myles Norton is responsible for the effective and efficient management of all aspects of ATRF’s financial services including pension payroll, contributions, refunds and transfers, financial reporting, investment accounting, risk management, and the maintenance and monitoring of the budgetary process.

Mr. Norton joined ATRF in November 1999 and has held various positions within the Financial Services and Investment departments. He assumed the role of Director, Financial Services in September 2010. Prior to joining ATRF, he was a Staff Auditor with the Office of the Auditor General of Alberta.

Mr. Norton has a Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting) and is a Certified Management Accountant (CMA) and is a CFA charterholder. He is a member of CMA Alberta, the CFA Institute and the Edmonton CFA Society.

© Copyright 2015, Alberta Teachers' Retirement Fund Board
Legal Information